Citizen of the Year

Click here for 2017 Nomination Form

Chamber accepting nominations for the 46th Annual Citizen of the Year Honoree

The Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce is now accepting nominations for 2017 Citizen of the Year for the Oxford/Lafayette County/University community.  

Each year since 1972, the Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce has sought to recognize individuals who have made positive contributions to Oxford, Lafayette County and the University of Mississippi as its Citizen of the Year.

If you know of someone who has benefited and made a direct, lasting impact on our community through volunteer service, please help to recognize them by submitting their name as a nominee for 46th Annual Citizen of the Year.  A completed nomination form, a typewritten biography of the individual and three nomination letters are required for each nomination.  

Last year’s honoree for Citizen of the Year was Captain Max Miller. For a complete list of past recipients go to

Candidates will be judged on the basis of the following criteria:  1) Positive contributions to the Oxford/Lafayette/University community; 2) Contributions above and beyond those normally expected in an elective or appointive office, or above and beyond mere success in a business or profession; and 3) Perception as a role model for good citizenship and volunteerism in a non-paid capacity.

No candidate shall be discriminated against because of race, creed, color, age, sex or national origin. Consideration of candidates shall be in strict confidence and no announcement of the successful candidate will be made prior to the Chamber/EDF Annual Meeting Luncheon, scheduled for May 17, 2017.

Click here for more information and a nomination form.  Deadline for nominations is noon, Thursday, May 4, 2017.


Previous Citizen of the Year Recipients

William McNeil Reed – 1972
Jean Allen Young – 1973
Dr. and Mrs. J.D. Williams – 1974
Fred Taylor – 1975
Dr. Frank Anderson – 1976
Dr. C. M. Murry – 1977
Will Lewis, Sr. – 1978
Travis King – 1979
Nina Goolsby and Jesse Phillips – 1980
Dr. L. G. Hopkins – 1981
Lake and Dick Elliott – 1982
Dr. James Mann – 1983
B.O. Elliott, Jr. – 1984
Clark Littlejohn – 1985
Will Hickman – 1986
William N. Lovelady – 1987
Edgar Harold Overstreet – 1988
Robert C. Khayat – 1989
Jack F. Dunbar – 1990
Buddy East – 1991
Bernie L Smith, III – 1992
Willie B. Tankersley – 1993
Mayor John Leslie – 1994
Louise Avent – 1995
Walker Coffey – 1996
Mary Ann Fruge’ – 1997
J.C. Goolsby – 1998
Vaughn Grisham/Pete Ramey – 1999
Duncan Gray – 2000
Mary Lexa – 2001
Sonny Johnson – 2002
Lena Wiley – 2003
Harry Sneed – 2004
Darryail Whittington – 2005
Dan Phillips – 2006
H.C. Franklin – 2007
James Pryor – 2008
Dr. Keith Mansel – 2009
Hollis Crowder – 2010
Jean Shaw – 2011
Bill Russell – 2012
Dr. Fred Laurenzo/Wil St. Amand – 2013
Max D. Hipp – 2014
Dr. Dan Jones – 2015
Captain Max Miller – 2016